PM calls for nominations for top science prizes


Australians, while in the Olympic spirit, are encouraged to nominate their science champions for the 2010 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science.

The Prime Minister's Prizes for Science are the most significant science prizes in Australia and a fitting tribute to the brilliant work done by our scientists and science teachers.

Past recipients include Australia’s first female Nobel laureate, Professor Elizabeth Blackburn, who received the predecessor to the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science in 1998.

Ms Blackburn received the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for her ground-breaking research into telomeres and the enzyme telomerase.

The prizes are awarded in five categories:
• Prime Minister’s Prize for Science ($300,000);
• Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year ($50,000);
• Science Minister’s Prize for Life Scientist of the Year ($50,000);
• Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools ($50,000); and
• Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools ($50,000).

Last year, Dr John O’Sullivan received the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science for his achievements in astronomy and wireless technologies.

Nominations close May 21.

To nominate online, or for further information, visit:

Related news & editorials

  1. worker
    by      In , In , In
    A $325,000 government grant has helped regional Victoria’s largest co-packing business increase its productivity through the introduction of an innovative product line and new automated equipment. 
    The grant, from the Agriculture Workforce Plan, has also enabled the Australian Disability Enterprise... Read More
  2. Production line
    by      In , In , In
    If you make craft beverages, the pride you take in brewing them is serious business. And most likely, you'd like as much control over getting your product into the hands of your customers as you have in crafting it in the first place. That's why choosing the right canning line is one of the most... Read More
  3. Holloway Group is one of the few Australian-based plastic injection moulding companies that can produce large goods.
    by      In , In
    When Matthew Holloway, Managing Director and owner of Holloway Group, came across an article about a concrete void filler product that was being made in China for an Australian company, he immediately knew it was something he could manufacture himself. 
    So he contacted the owner of the company that... Read More
  4. The brilliant TFT displays are protected by a glass front and feature a capacitive touch screen supporting multi-touch capability and gesture control.
    by      In , In , In
    Human-machine interfaces are a key component when applied to industrial automation. 
    Turck’s new HMI series enables cabinet-free operating and installation concepts with complete all-round IP67 protection at operating temperatures between -20 and +55°C
    With its high degree of protection, the TXF700... Read More